The Irving Plaza in New York City, welcomed Finnish ‘Love Metallers’, H.I.M, to a sold-out crowd on Friday March 14, 2014.

The band originally formed way back in 1991 and has been rising steadily in popularity ever since.  Armies of die-hard H.I.M fans, sporting tattoos of the bands trademarked ‘Heartagram’ logo, span the world from Helsinki, to the Czech Republic, to the United States, and everywhere in between.  They currently have eight albums under their belt; including the RIAA gold certified fifth album, Dark Light, and most currently Tears on Tape, released April 26, 2013.

Presently, the band features Ville Valo (lead vocals/acoustic guitar), Mikko ‘Linde’ Lindstrom (lead guitar/acoustic guitar), Mikki ‘Mige’ Paananen (bass guitar/contrabass/backing vocals), Mika ‘Gas Lipstick’ Karppinen (drums/percussion), and Jaan ‘Burton’ Puurtinen (keyboards/piano/backing vocals).

The sold-out crowd in NYC was treated to an unforgettable event and National Rock Review photographer, Mark Doyle, was on hand to capture the experience.

HIM set list:

  • Buried Alive By Love
  • Rip Out the Wings of a Butterfly
  • Right Here in My Arms
  • The Kiss of Dawn
  • All Lips Go Blue
  • Join Me in Death
  • Your Sweet Six Six Six
  • Passion’s Killing Floor
  • Soul on Fire
  • Wicked Game
  • Tears on Tape
  • Poison Girl
  • For You
  • The Funeral of Hearts
  • Encore:
  • Into the Night
  • When Love and Death Embrace

HIM online:

Anathema online:

About The Author

Mark is a freelance still photographer for concerts and events. He has photographed such bands as Metallica, Halestorm, Rush, Iron Maiden, Roger Waters, Macy Gray, Smash Mouth, Candlebox, Billy Joel, Slayer, Alice in Chains, etc. Worked as a Staff Photographer for Japan Day NYC, and has been shooting for over 10 years. Mark loves Metal and Classic rock, his first concert as a photographer was in 2008 when he shot Iron Maiden at Madison Square Garden. He has been hooked on live shows ever since, calling himself a pit dweller.

Related Posts