LA Metal Scene with Allie Jorgen: Steel Panther Storm LA In Support Of Their New CD “All You Can Eat”

Featured

To celebrate the release of their new CD, All You Can Eat, Steel Panther returned to their hometown of Los Angeles at the Hustler Store on Sunset Blvd to conduct a press conference the likes of which have never been seen before.

On April 3, 2014, the Hustler Store in Los Angeles was taken over by the Kings of Carnage. Surrounded by scantily clad Hustler Girls, the band entered the room ready to take on the press and leave no doubt as to why Steel Panther is currently the number one metal band in the world today.

Read More..

Ronnie Montrose Remembered Contest Winners

RonnieMontrose-CollageImageThe winners of our Ronnie Montrose Remembered Prize Package Giveaway have been selected. We received hundreds of entries with detailed stories recounting fans special memories of Ronnie and the impact he had on their lives.

This contest ran shortly after our Ronnie Montrose tribute article on the anniversary of his death. We’ve selected the six final winners of the prizes packages and published their stories inside here.

Read More..

Concert Imagery: Iced Earth at St. Andrew’s Hall in Detroit, MI on 12-Apr-2014

Metal legends Iced Earth stormed through Detroit on April 12, 2014. Touring in support of their latest release, Plagues of Babylon, Iced Earth crushed the crowd in attendance. The band played a wide variety of songs from their catalog, both old and new, culminating with their classic track, Iced Earth.

Frontman Jon Schaffer continues to pen amazing metal tracks. The rest of the band, singer Stu Block, guitarist Troy Seele, bassist Luke Appleton, and drummer Jon Dette, faithfully bring Schaffer’s music to fruition live.

Read More..

New Single Review: Crowbar – Walk With Knowledge Wisely

I have a general rule about singles released prior to a full length album or E.P.; I don’t like to review them as I like to experience an album as a whole work. There are of course, those occasional exceptions where as it is in rock and roll, the rules are irrelevant. Case in point, the new song from the Southern Sludge band Crowbar, a rule breaker if ever there was a call for one.

The new crowbar album, Symmetry in Black, will be released on May 27th, 2014 on E One Entertainment. Read More..

Concert Imagery: Lullwater at Blind Pig in Ann Arbor, MI on 10-Apr-2014

“Its only Rock ‘n Roll, but I like it” was running through my head as I walked into the Blind Pig in Ann Arbor, Michigan on Thursday night (April 10, 2014) to check out a band called LullWater.

Our editor, Erik Heemsoth, wrote a dandy album review of the latest self-titled release by LullWater back in March.  After reading the article, I was intrigued and went to check out their music for myself.  Shortly after listening to Albatross, I was reeled in and bought my own copy.  So, upon learning they were coming to my hometown of Ann Arbor (in support of Passafire), I jumped at the chance to catch them live.

Read More..

Concert Imagery: Sandi Thom at Sage Gateshead in Gateshead, UK on 08-Apr-2014

Tonight, North East concert goers welcomed Scottish blues-rock singer/songwriter, Sandi Thom, to a sold out crowd in the Northern Rock Foundation Hall at the Sage Gateshead, a beautiful venue on the banks of the River Tyne. The Sage Gateshead was recently cited as one of the world’s 15 most spectacular concert halls.

Last week, Sandi performed alongside the likes of Bruce Dickinson, Glenn Hughes, Rick Wakeman, and Micky Moody at the impressive Royal Albert Hall as part of the ‘Celebrating Jon Lord’ concert, a tribute to the late Deep Purple legend.

Read More..

Concert Review: Kill Devil Hill @ Viper Room in Hollywood, CA on 05-Mar-2014

As a warm up for their upcoming 2014 tour, Kill Devil Hill tore up the Viper Room stage with their new drummer, Johnny Kelly. On March 10, 2014, it was announced that Vinny Appice had left the band, and that former Type O Negative drummer Johnny Kelly was his replacement.

Read More..

Concert Review: Experience Hendrix at the Fox Theater in Detroit, MI on 03-Apr-2014

It was Stratocaster nirvana at the fabulous Fox Theater in Detroit, Michigan on Thursday April 3, 2014 as some of the best guitar players in the world paid homage to probably the most influential rock musician; Jimi Hendrix.

Just like everyone that has wanted to play an electric guitar through a Marshall amp, I’m a Jimi Hendrix fan.  When I was 17 and heard ‘Electric Ladyland’, I was hooked.  As I watched my guitar idols jamming out Hendrix, I was struck by the thought that at one time these guys had also been hold up in their bedrooms working out the riffs to ‘Stone Free’ or ‘Voodoo Child’.

Read More..

Concert Imagery: Iced Earth, Sabaton, ReVamp open North American Tour at Intersection in Grand Rapids, MI on 04-Apr-2014

Century Media recording Artists Iced Earth continued their Worldwide Plagues Tour as they kicked off their six-week North American trek through the US and Canada at The Intersection in Grand Rapids, Michigan. The band is touring in support of their latest effort, Plagues Of Babylon, released in the United States on January, 22 2014, is the bands 11th studio album and highly anticipated follow-up to 2010′s Dystopia.

The Worldwide Plagues Tour tour kicked off on January 9th in Starbrucken, Germany, and after nearly three months of waiting impatiently, our time has finally come.

Read More..

Concert Imagery: Emmure at Pop’s in Sauget, IL on 03-Apr-2014

Emmure performed at Pop’s in Sauget, Illinois on April 3, 2014. Never mind the weather warnings about wind, rain, hail, tornadoes… that was not enough to keep the die-hard Emmure fans home. Rather than heed the warnings, they packed into Pop’s in a sweaty, pierced, tattooed, jumping horde to crush themselves against the stage in a frenetic display of head banging and screaming along with each song.

Read More..