It’s winter in Detroit and there was a slight Halestorm in the area.  Not the kind that will break your car windows, the kind that will break your eardrums!

Opening the show at The Royal Oak Music Theatre was Redlight King.  Fronted by Mark “Kaz” Kasprzyk out of Ontario, Canada, they feature a perfect mix of rock and a splash of hip hop.   After a very solid debut album titled “Something for the Pain”, the band has recently released it’s second album “Irons in the Fire”.  Redlight King brings a real Rock show.  Guitar, Bass, and drums, nothing else is necessary.  It’s a traditional rock sound which seems to get lost in the current era of rock music.

Their set began with “Comeback”, a song from the soundtrack to the movie, Marvel Avengers Assemble.  Also in the set were “Redemption” from the Iron Man 3 soundtrack, and their current single, “Born To Rise”, which is used as a theme song on Monday Night Football.  Seeing a trend here? These guys are pretty badass; they rock for super heroes and football players!  Their set ended with the crowd 100% into the song “Bullet In My Hand”, a song off their first record.

Do yourself a favor and check out Redlight King.  Frontman Kaz says, “My songs are written about real issues, real experiences. I like to bring listeners in deep, and give them time to look around”.  Whether you are just in it for some hard rock music, or you are into the deeper lyrical meaning of a song, you will not be disappointed with these guys.  Check out Redlight King at  and on facebook at

    Redlight King Setlist  12-5-2013 Royal Oak Music Theatre, Royal Oak, MI.

  • Comeback
  • Built To Last
  • City Life
  • Redemption
  • Critical
  • Caught In The Middle
  • Devil’s Dance
  • Born To Rise
  • Bullet In My Hand

Click the name of the song to see the video if available.

The headliner of this show was Halestorm. Coming from the town of Red Lion, Pennsylvania and fresh off a grammy win earlier this year, the band does not disappoint. The brother sister team of Lzzy and Arejay Hale, along with Josh Smith and Joe Hottinger, bring a high energy, unforgettable style rock show.

Fronted by the beautiful Lzzy Hale, who has a stage presence that could be put up against any current frontman (or woman), the band clearly loves playing live and it shows.  Lzzy does not just stand at the mic and look good, she wields a guitar patrolling the stage for most of the show.  She has a control over the audience similar to that of a conductor over an orchestra.  She can bring the crowd up with their hard rock ballads and settle them down on piano driven songs like Break In. Her brother Arejay’s drumming is a show within their show.  Tossing his sticks as high as the stage will allow, or catching them being throw from the crew on the side of the stage, he never misses a beat.  His drum solo is worth the price of admission. The solo concludes with him playing with some sticks the size of Louisville Sluggers.

Their powerful set began with their Grammy Award winning song, “Love Bites (So Do I)”, and continued to rock through “Mz. Hyde”, “It’s Not You”, and “Freak Like Me”.  A surprise in the set was “Break In”, a song requested from two fans who became engaged during the preshow meet-and-greet.  The song features just Lzzy and her piano.  Her voice commands the crowd as the song continues into their other piano-heavy song, “A Familiar Taste Of Poison”.  After Lzzy calms the crowd, it’s her brother Arejay’s drum solo that raises them up.  Placed perfectly in the set, it leaves most people saying one word: wow.   The encore includes the hit from their latest release, “I Miss the Misery”, and the song they close most of their shows with, “Here’s To Us”.

A Grammy win is just another notch in the belt for these guys.  You can tell they truly love each other and what they do.  They are about to begin work on their third album and fans cannot wait to see what comes next.   Check out Halestorm at and on facebook at

Halestorm Setlist  12-5-2013 Royal Oak Music Theatre, Royal Oak, MI.

  • Love Bites (So Do I)
  • Mz. Hyde
  • It’s Not You
  • Freak Like Me
  • You Call Me A Bitch Like It’s A Bad Thing
  • Innocence
  • Don’t Know How To Stop
  • Daughters Of Darkness
  • Rock Show
  • Gold Dust Woman (Fleetwood Mac Cover)
  • Break In
  • Familiar Taste Of Poison
  • Drum Solo
  • Dissident Aggressor (Judas Priest Cover)
  • Nothing To Do With Love
  • I Get Off

  • Get Luck (Daft Punk Cover)
  • I Miss The Misery
  • Here’s To Us


About The Author

Born and raised in metro Detroit, Steve has been photographing since he first discovered the throwaway camera. He spent most of his youth in concert venues developing a love for the live show. In the past couple of years Steve has been able to combine those hobbies. For Steve there is no better escape than having music to hear and a lens to look through. He looks forward to sharing his photographic eye with you here on National Rock review.

Related Posts