Michigan Rockers Pop Evil kick off their Rock ‘N’ Roll Now Tour: Right Now in front of a packed Louisville audience with Red Sun Rising and Badflower.

Kicking off a full, 29-date, headline tour and launching their final single, “If Only for Now” from their popular UP album, Pop Evil rolled into Louisville’ Mercury Ballroom ready to party.

Pop Evil wasted little time getting everyone involved as they started off with “Trenches,” “Goodbye My Friend,” and “Last Man Standing.”

With everyone thoroughly warmed up, Pop Evil amped up the energy performing the bass heavy “Ways to get High” that had the venue jumping followed by “Lux,” “Deal with the Devil,” and the aforementioned new single, “If Only for Now,” that drew a huge ovation.

Visually the stage was an ever changing sea of reds and greens with huge light towers scanning the crowd. On stage, the guys were simply wild. Bassist Matt DiRito was uncontrollable, bounding all over the stage with his frenetic hair whipping about.

The last part of their main set was just as dynamic as the first with “Monster You Made,” “Divide,” “Somebody Like You,” and “Sick Sense.” Leigh, now with an acoustic guitar over his shoulder took a moment to address the crowd acknowledging a number of young fans in attendance before urging everyone to “Light this place up” with their cell phones. Pop Evil ended their main set with “100 in a 55” drawing another great ovation.

The Pop Evil encore followed with “Torn To Pieces” that set the venue a buzz. With only Haley on the keyboards and Leigh remaining on stage, they rolled into an acoustic “Beautiful” that was both deep and sincere. Finally, with the full band now back on stage, Pop Evil ended a fantastic evening with an energetic rendition “Footsteps” and “Take It All.”

Akron Ohio-based Red Sun Rising provided the main support for the evening. Touring in support of their debut album, Polyester Zeal, their 30-minute set included hits “The Otherside,” “Amnesia,” before ending with “Emotionless.” In between these songs, Mike explained that Red Sun Rising are headed back into the studio to begin recording their second album and treated the Mercury Ballroom crowd with a new track, “The Running Man,” that was well received.

Red Sun Rising is Mike Protich (vocals, guitar), Ryan Williams (guitar), Ricky Miller (bass, vocals), Dave McGarry (guitar, vocals), and Pat Gerasia (drums).

Los Angeles-based Badflower, touring in support of their debut album Temper, opened the evening with a dynamic 30-minute set. They ended big with their current and popular single “Animal” bring fans to their feet the room reverberating with shouts and applause.

Badflower is singer/guitarist Josh Katz, lead guitarist Joey Morrow, bassist Alex Espiritu and drummer Anthony Sonetti.

Pop Evil
Website | Facebook | Twitter

Red Sun Rising
Website | Facebook | Twitter

Website | Facebook | Twitter

The Mercury Ballroom
Website | Facebook | Twitter

Event Date: 10-Jan-2017