Winner of the Diesel Concert Lounge Dirt Fest Battle of the Bands, Kougaran will be taking a spot on stage at Dirt Fest this year.

Kougaran began as a project between brothers Niko and Gino Puzio from Rochester Michigan north of Detroit, in the summer of 2010. Kougaran added Bassist Josh Wazinsky and Rhythm Guitarist Luke Daniels. They’re a fun spirited bunch of guys that just love to play music.

The band has an old and new feel to it, the sound is modern but at the same time takes the listener to a previous time. They are a feel good band, the ideal live band that you would find late night bar hopping. The vocals feel like the early days of the British invasion. The battery and guitar riffs contrast the vocals in a positive way and grows on the listener.

Our photographer, Tony Patroske, was on hand to capture key moments in their show. Here are his photos:

Default Gallery Type Template

This is the default gallery type template, located in:

If you're seeing this, it's because the gallery type you selected has not provided a template of it's own.

Mick McDonald interviewed the guys of Kougaran in their practice studio. They discussed the origin of the band, their musical influences, the recent growth of Kougaran, and their upcoming appearance on stage at Dirt Fest 2014.

Website | Facebook | Twitter

Dirt Fest

$35.00 general admission for 50 bands!

Saturday Aug 9
Birch Run Expo Center
11600 Birch Run, MI 48415
All Ages Welcome
Gates Open at 12 noon (11:30am for VIP)
Rain Or Shine Event
Produced and Hosted by Dirt Fest Partners:
(Dalton Bros. & Banana 101.5)

Band Lineup:
Killswitch Engage
SID of Slipknot
Hed Pe
Smile Empty Soul
Blue Felix
Beyond Threshold
Beast In The Field
Powerman 5000
Nothing More
Redlight King
Framing Hanley
Gift Giver
Murder FM
It Lies Within
Gemini Syndrome
Like A Storm
Eyes Set To Kill
Critical Bill
Sunflower Dead
Through The Ashes
Saint Ridley
Bridge To Grace
The 2nd System
Switchblade Scarlett
Brody & The Busch Road Trio
The Mighty Swine
Hell Rides North
Black Flower Blossom
My Perfect Nightmare
The Persevering Promise
Know Lyfe
Aim Your Arrows
The Finale
Bulletproof Snow
Martyr For Madison
Laid In Stone
Autumn Coma
Flood Of Souls
First Decree
Hour 24
Dystopian I
At Ocean’s Depth
This Is Life This Is Living
Sins In Stereo
Dead Sky

About The Author

Hailing from Boston and now residing in the Metro Detroit area, Mick has spent several years photographing concerts and interviewing musicians in the music industry. After spending a few years shooting and writing for, he founded and started the National Rock Review in the fall of 2013. Recruiting staffers from around the world, he has led the National Rock Review team in to a respected and established publication in the online music news/press industry in a short period of time.