The Token Lounge was rocked by Gus G and his band with support from Reject the Silence, Shadows Dawn, and Jackstand.

Opening the evening was Reject the Silence from Monroe, Michigan. Their hard rock/metal mix draws upon influences from bands such as Nothing More and Shinedown. The band pumped up the crowd with an aggressive yet melodic set. Reject the Silence is Aaron Moore (vocals), Craig Hauser (guitar), Stephen Lands (bass), and Ken Hueston (drums). This is a band to keep your eye on in the future.

Next up was Shadows Dawn from Midland, Michigan. The lineup includes Christopher Thurlow (vocals and guitar), Josh Whitehead (bass and vocals), and Gage Bennett (drums). Shadows Dawn formed in May 2014 and are known for grunge metal/alternative sound. Bennett drove the beat hard with the double-kick on every song. The audience appreciated their set, responding loudly. It’s great to see bands from all around the state make the trek to the legendary Token Lounge.

Providing direct support for the headliner was Jackstand from Detroit. They are fronted by Kent Franklyn on vocals and harmonica. Rounding out the lineup is Bradley Matheny (guitar), John Isom (bass), and Danny Smith (drums). Jackstand has been playing live shows since 2012 and has opened for national acts including Saliva, Autograph, and Molly Hatchett.

Jackstand revved up the crowd for the evening; they just flat-out rocked the house. Smith and Isom laid down a powerful groove while Metheny provided the catchy guitar hooks. Frontman Franklyn knew how to work the stage and got the people out of their seats and moving. The band blazed through a set that included the songs “Crash n Burn,” “Rodeo,” and “Going Insane.” Jackstand is a great band to see live; they offer powerful songs and entertaining to watch.

The lights dimmed and Gus G and his band hit the stage with the song “Burn” from his latest album, Brand New Revolution. The setlist for the evening drew from Gus G’s two solo albums, as well as from Firewind and Ozzy Osbourne. For this tour, Gus assembled a killer band featuring Rob Rock from Impelliteri (vocals), Taylor Nordberg (bass), and Patrick Johansson (drums).

The fans who came out were lucky to catch them since they are only playing eight dates on this short North American tour. Gus is a ferocious axeman and displayed his technical wizardry of the fretboard for fans. The audience could not get enough. Just when you thought it was over, the band came back out and tore into the Ozzy classic, “Over the Mountain.”

Video produced by George S Pogacich

After the show, Gus and Rob came out and signed some autographs and took pictures with the fans. It was a great night all around for those in attendance.

Gus G
Website | Facebook | Twitter

Website | Facebook

Shadows Dawn
Facebook | Twitter

Reject The Silence
Website | Facebook

Gus G Setlist: Burn, Brand New Revolution, I Don’t Know, Eyes Wide Open, Blame It On Me, World On Fire, The Quest, Terrified, Garden of Chaos, My Will Be Done, Redemption, I Am The Fire, Crazy Train, Over the Mountain (encore)